RSS

What I stumbled upon on the trail of a dead relative…

18 Aug

I was searching through Ancestry.com for an early relative and stumbled upon a link to this website…

…a site maintained by the National Park Service. After you get on this free information site, you can search for a relative that you know, or suspect, was in the Civil War to see their service record and even their cemetery site. Free info, in a world where documents and searches can be costly is a great thing.

Lesson learned: It pays to look more closely at some of your search info. The James Purdy noted on the research page is not the relative that I was looking for, but I clicked on the research page just for the heck of it, wondering if what I found was a relative of the original relative (it was not). When I read the source information, I saw a link to the park service page. In the future, I’ll look more closely at my sources.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 18, 2011 in research, sources

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
