RSS

Moving toward the future by looking to the past

19 Jun

I am utterly fascinated with family history and genealogy and have been learning more and more every day. I may look into finding some classes that I can attend to expand my knowledge base. But of course, life gets in the way sometimes, so we will see.

Today I did a google search on one of my ancestors from the Revolutionary War, Reuben Stearns, and actually found his grave listed with a picture of the headstone on Find A Grave.

It doesn’t get much cooler than that!

You know I’ve already been considering investigating some of the old cemeteries in my area and cataloging headstones with the inscriptions and photos – now that I’ve joined Find A Grave as a contributor, I’ll have a database that I can add them to so that others can benefit from the info the same way I benefited from that provided by the person who added Reuben Stearns to the database. Very cool.

Note: I’ve been absent from this blog for a couple weeks because my life has been complicated by finishing my masters, my husband’s illness (hopefully the last operation this week), and my recent job layoff. It’s been a tough road that a lot of others are also facing.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 19, 2011 in Cemetery

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
