RSS

An interesting discovery in the 1900 census

30 Mar

Having practiced quite a bit of genealogy, I have found multiple relatives through oral family history, WWII draft cards, and census records. I was even lucky enough to find transcription of the marriage certificate for my great great grandparents on my Dad’s maternal side (still have to go to the family history library and order the microfilm). I also have quite a bit of experience with indexing records for FamilySearch.org and have been noticing occupations on census records more and more. So, I decided to look at the census records for the family members I found long ago, before I knew anything really about genealogy. I was just happy back then to trace back to a name.

I went back to the census records I verified earlier, but didn’t look at too closely. I found my great great grandmother had an occupation other than “keeping house” – seen on most census records.

MIDWIFE

My great great grandmother Mary Jane was a midwife! Pretty amazing!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 30, 2011 in Census, domentation

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
