RSS

My oh my, repetition, repetition

12 Jan

So, I was spending hours searching through Ancestry.com and importing data from other family trees and historical records. Later, much to my horror, when looking up a person on my tree I found him in there twice! When I looked further, I found more than one person was in there twice. It seems that many of the family trees I had used as source material had the repetitions as well. Fortunately the damage was minimal and I was able to delete the repetitions on my Ancestry.com tree without disrupting the verified material I had there.

Lesson learned: watch out for repetitious information.

Then I got an email from Ancestry with possible matches for my tree. I clicked the link to check all and was presented with 7 pages of names with hints. Most of these were more distant branches of the tree that didn’t present a direct link to me. Each time I updated one, it opened other branches and more names would pop up on the list.

Another lesson learned: it isn’t necessary to put all the children of all of the relatives on tree – they only sprout more leaves.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 12, 2011 in tools

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “My oh my, repetition, repetition

Leave a Reply

 
