RSS

How do you decide who is right?

17 Apr

Okay, so I had managed to find a lot of information about some ancestors on my husband’s side, mostly through census records found on Ancestry.com and on footnote.com and a few ship manifests posted by other genealogist who seemed to share my husband’s lineage. I felt very satisfied that I had found the first of my husband’s ancestors who came over from  the Ukraine via a ship out of England. I thought this was really cool.

Then the other shoe dropped…. A relative sent what he found on the family tree. The ship manifest he found noted a slightly different name and an entirely different ship out of England. It was like the wind had been let out of my sails.

So how, exactly, do you decide what information to believe?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 17, 2010 in conflicting information, sources

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “How do you decide who is right?

  1. Sarah B.

    April 17, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    Mary –

    I’ve nominated you for an Ancestor Approved Award. You can pick it up here.

     
    • Mary Chrapliwy

      April 18, 2010 at 4:19 pm

      Thanks! I went to the link you provided, but don’t see an HTML code. Is there one I can access?

       
  2. Sarah B.

    April 17, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    It’s so difficult to assess sources like that. I’m really hoping that the class I’m taking now will help me evaluate conflicting information. Not to mention, you may have to tell someone that their conclusions may be incorrect, and some people get very touchy!

     

Leave a Reply

 
