RSS

My reflections on The Wealth of Reality: An Ecology of Composition by Margaret Syverson

05 Apr

We had lengthy discussions about our reading of The Wealth of Reality: An Ecology of Composition by Margaret Syverson. The portion of the reading and the discussion of this book was Syverson’s discussion of the ecology of composition particularly in relation to “consider[ing] the writer’s interaction with the environment” (6)

In relation to that environment, a classmate and I agreed that the ability to bring a writing tool, like a laptop, anywhere we go allows us to compose in different spaces more easily. In fact, I have become so comfortable with composing on the computer, since I can type almost as fast as I can think, that I find that composing is easier and I can be more prolific with my writing. I have become so enamored of composing on the computer that the only time I use pen and paper in my writing process is when I am struck with an idea that I feel compelled to write down before it slips away.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 5, 2010 in Reading response

 

Tags:

One response to “My reflections on The Wealth of Reality: An Ecology of Composition by Margaret Syverson

  1. dianestopyra

    April 7, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    Makes me wonder what will come next! The pencil seems so antiquated today. I don’t think it will be long before the laptop is, too. My mom typed all of her college papers on a typewriter, and that would be such a tedious endeavor for me. I wonder if my kids will be appalled one day by the thought of having to type at all!

     

Leave a Reply

 
