RSS

A trip to the library nets a curious discovery and launches a quest

27 Jan

I have always loved visits to my local library. I’ve known many of the librarians since our town’s collection of books occupied a tiny building. There was a real sense of community and camaraderie in that tiny building. Times changed and, though that sense of community and camaraderie remains, the once tiny library has grown and has been incorporated into the local community center. The library occupies one wing of the large community center. Outside of the library, off on other wings, are offices and rooms that have always been a complete mystery to me. No longer in a small building by itself, our library occupies a part of a larger community center.

I recently visited my library. I was humming happily with a pile of books I had checked out in my arms. I stepped out of the library entrance into the lobby and noted a green slip of paper laying on a table there. “Trace Your Roots,” the flyer proclaimed. According to the flyer, you can go to the Historical Society to learn how to do your family tree. Historical Society? I looked across the lobby and noticed, for the first time, a slightly cluttered office that housed the Historical Society of the Township of Franklin. The office was closed, so there was no one to ask about this flyer I had found.

I plan to return to the Historical Society to interview the staff about family research, obtain texts related to genealogy, and investigate other resources that are available for further research. With the knowledge I obtain, I plan to begin to trace my family roots and begin to build my family tree.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 27, 2010 in First steps

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “A trip to the library nets a curious discovery and launches a quest

  1. Angela Speakman

    January 31, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    What a great idea, Mary! Not only will you be able to find information, you’ll be able to write about the process and have folks to talk with at the Historical Society. I recently went into the Franklin Twp library – Wow! It’s huge. I think it’s great that there is a Community Center there, although I bet there’s a different level of activity and a different feel about the place now (as opposed to the prior library). Good luck with the research!

     
  2. Bill Wolff

    February 6, 2010 at 10:49 am

    I agree with Angela that this is an excellent idea. Making the story an account of your exploration and the implications of it would be a great way to approach and gain hold of such a daunting subject.

     

Leave a Reply

 
